The European Society of Veterinary and Comparative Nutrition (ESVCN) was founded October 5th 1991 at the Hofburg Palace in Vienna during the WSAVA congress.  The society is affiliated to the European Society of Veterinary Internal Medicine (ESVIM).

After a few years of organising a one day seminar in conjunction with the ESVIM congresses, since 1997, the ESVCN started organising its own independent yearly congress in September.

Currently the society counts about 130 members


Picture: Some of the founding fathers from left to right: Ron Anderson, Josef Leibetseder, Jacques Debraekeleer, Helmut Meyer

First Board

Prof. Josef Leibetseder – President

Prof. Ronald S. Anderson – Vice-President

Prof. Helmut C. Meyer – Honorary President

Prof. Dominique Grandjean - Treasurer

Dr. Jacques Debraekeleer - Secretary

Founding Members:

Prof. Josef Leibetseder - Veterinärmedizinsche Universität, Vienna (Austria)

Prof. Ronald S. Anderson - University of Liverpool (UK)

Prof. Helmut C. Meyer - Tierärztliche Hochschule, Hannover (Germany)

Prof. Jean-Pierre Cotard - Ecole National Vétérinaire d’Alfort, Maisons-Alfort (France)

Dr. Jacques Debraekeleer - Hill’s Pet Nutrition, Tienen (Belgium)